The District of Belozersk is situated in the north-west of the Vologda Region.
Border regions: the districts of Vashki, Kirillov, Kadui, Cherepovets, Babaevo, Vytegra within the Vologda Oblast
Protected areas: four natural reserves (the total area of protected natural territories of Belozersk district is 123852 hectares)
Numerous lakes (131 all in all), steep slopes of lake basins, covered with forest, forest lakes – all these in combination with hilly relief make the area uncommonly wonderful.
White Lake which has a round shape (its diameter is approximately 46 km, maximum depth is 33 m) is the largest in the district.
Distance from Vologda: 216 km
Distance from Cherepovets: 100 km
Distance from St. Petersburg: 650 km
Distance from Moscow: 700 km
The economy of Belozersk District is based on timber industry and food industry.
Timber industry complex in the structure of industrial production of the district makes up 88%.
Attractions and tourism
Belozersk known as Beloozero until 1777 (White Lake Town) is situated on the southern bank of Beloye Lake, from which it takes the name.
Belozersk is a quiet provincial town keeping the unique aroma of slow way of life. It seems as if the fate tried to preserve the town in its original view.
Many tourists come to Belozersk in a summer season. Every year the town holds the festival "Beloozero" which is timed to coincide with the Day of Belozersk City. You may want to witness some of the main attractions of it - open-air performances at the White Lake and at the earthen ramparts.
Places of interest historically: the Mariinskaya water system (1810), the Belozersk by-pass canal (1846), the Belozersk earthen mound at White Lake (1487)
An imposing earth mound surrounded with a deep ditch rises in the very centre of Belozersk. Fortifications appeared at the end of 15th century when the town finally passed to the Moscow princedom. Heights of the mounds reached 30 m and wooden walls with towers stood on them from above. Taking into consideration an encircling ditch with water, one might say that the fortress was strongly defended. Nowadays the mounds slipped a little, nevertheless they make the town's landscape unusual.
Not far from the bridge across the ditch leading inside the mound there is an original monument devoted to 1112-anniversary of the town. The history of Belozersk was closely connected with the water way and a boat was chosen as a symbol of the monument. A stone near the boat decorating the city centre relates to it.
Dwelling houses of the classical period constitute a notable part in the town's architectural legacy. Quite remarkable are some wooden mansions.
The town's image is changing but its residents cherish the history that is imprinted in numerous monuments. Beyond these monuments beauty of the northern nature gives unique charm to the city. It should be taken into consideration that antiquity of the city is a special pride of its citizens.
At present work on establishment of a historical and architectural complex known by the name Prince's Court is underway. It recreates the atmosphere of medieval Rus. This is a new tendency in the tourist industry of the Vologda Oblast where you will be able to step back in time and experience first-hand with authentically-costumed guides the time and lives of the townspeople in the 11th-13th centuries.
The city boasts over 50 monuments of history and culture - earthen rampant, churches and a number of dwelling houses.
The architectural ensemble of the Belozersk museum of arts and history comprises monuments of Russian church architecture - the Cathedral of the Transfiguration of our Lord (17th century), a wooden church of the Prophet Elijah (17th century), Church of Peter and Paul (18th century), Cathedral of the Transfiguration of our Lord, an old city of Belozersk with a group of old churches, the Kremlin in the form of an earthen rampant (15th century) and a three-span bridge across the Kremlin moat (19th century).
Many architectural monuments of Belozersk have been preserved. An imposing earth mound, surrounded with a deep ditch, appeared in the centre of the city under the command of Ivan III, Grand Duke. Fortifications appeared at the end of the 15th century, when the city finally passed to the Moscow princedom. The mounds were 30 metres high and wooden walls with towers stood on them from above. The locals used it as a shelter. No one coming to the city can help being impressed by it. Having been built some centuries ago it remains one of the best monuments of this kind in Russia.
Taking into consideration an encircling ditch with water, one might say, that the fortress was strongly defended. Nowadays the mounds slipped a little, nevertheless they make the city landscape unusual.
The cathedral of Transfiguration, which is half concealed behind the rampant, is especially beautiful. Only cupolas with crosses are seen from the city. From the top of the fortifications one can make a circular walking tour and admire a panorama of the city.
The five-domed Cathedral of the Transfiguration of our Lord has kept a wonderful ensemble of fretted wooden works of monumental-decorative art: an iconostasis, decorated with a gilt polychromatic sculpture, icon cases, icon frames, decorated with gilding and frescos.
On the territory of the former trading quarter (outside the earth mounds) there is wooden tiered Church of the Prophet Elijah (1690) of pillar form with refectory. It also makes a profound impression.
Not far from the bridge across the ditch, leading inside the mound, there is an original monument. It is devoted to the 1112th anniversary of the city. The history of Belozersk was closely connected with the water way and a boat was chosen as a symbol of the monument not by chance. A stone near the boat and a plaque on it testify to this fact.
The Assumption church (1552) is another place of interest historically. It is the oldest stone construction of the city (at least, among those which have been preserved to our days). The church itself is monumental and stately in form. A large bell is set on the porch. It was bought by citizens in 1545 in Pskov. Near the temple there is a small winter church of the Theophany (the middle of XVIII century) in baroque style.
Belozersk is the oldest city in the Russian North. It was first mentioned in a chronicle of 862.
In 15th-16th centuries the town became an important stop on the northern trade routes, at that time it benefited from its proximity to important trading routes. A major change in its appearance occurred during the reign of Ivan the Terrible, who in 1553 ordered to build a stone church in the town. This monument of architecture is still preserved in its original appearance.
In the 17th century the lack of trade led to a decrease in the town's wealth.
In the course of the administrative reform carried out in 1708 by Peter the Great, Beloozero was included into Saint Petersburg Governorate and in 1727, a separate Novgorod Governorate was split off and Belozersk became the seat of Belozersk Province in Novgorod Governorate.
In June 1918, five uyezds of Novgorod Governorate, including Belozersky Uyezd, were split off to form Cherepovets Governorate. On August 1st, 1927, Belozersky District was established. On September 23, 1937, District of Belozersk was transferred to newly established Vologda Oblast.